Indie developers: How to get your game in the press

Posted: January 27, 2012 in Marketing
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Lewis Denby’s marketing guide

Lewis Denby

One of the more common troubles I run into during my career as a games journalist is that, sometimes, its seems as though developers don’t want me to write about their titles. Every now and then, when I’m looking for something to pitch to an editor, I browse indie sites to see if I can catch a glimpse of something exciting that I might like to big up. Often, I come across one such games, decide I want to write about it, but then run into a thousand barriers that mean I just… can’t.

To begin with, I was baffled by some of these common mistakes. Surely it’s obvious? But after talking with a few people on Twitter, it turns out that maybe it isn’t. Developers: I assume you want people to know about your game, so here are a few suggestions of what you might like to consider doing in…

View original post 1,445 more words

Comments
  1. Randy Napier says:

    Related to this Ben Kuchera (who was, at the time, lead game editor at Ars Technica) came to speak to my local game group about how indies can get noticed by the press, and what to do with their attention once you have it. We recorded the talk (it’s about 45 minutes long I think) and can be found at http://runjumpdev.com/2011/12/07/ben-kuchera-marketing-for-indie-games/ . A good bit of the advice by this blog post and Ben is the same, but Ben makes quite a few other interesting points as well.

Leave a Reply

